Be Slow To Speak

I have several songs I sometimes listen to while meditating on the Lord. One specific song has caught my attention for the past month or so. The song is titled “Word of God Speak” by MercyMe. The youtube video posted below includes the song and the lyrics.The fact that I began listening to the song to start my mornings showed me that I was in agreement with the message of the song.I believe this song caught my attention for many reasons but I will discuss two of the main ones. The first verse begins with: I am finding myself at a loss for words and the funny thing is it’s okay. The last thing I need is to be heard. These are the words that remained in my head long after I listened to the song. I then realized God is in the process of humbling me. I wouldn’t say that in the past I wanted to outtalk everyone or that I always wanted to be right but I certainly was going to get my point across.I must admit, it was difficult for me to listen to someone talk(especially if the conversation wasn’t in my favor)and to not say anything in retaliation.  Not to be rude,not to be disrespectful, but simply because that put my pride in an uncomfortable position.I don’t believe it is unruly to share our opinions but an issue definitely arises when sharing our opinions becomes a matter of feeding our ego. Sometimes I couldn’t even recall what another person said because I was so fixated on what I had to say. This had to change. We all know pride comes before a fall.

Not only does the first verse say that I am at a loss for words BUT it also mentions being okay with it.  Months ago I wouldn’t have been able to see the connection between how I talked WITH God and how I talked TO man because I had the mentality that I could express myself anyway I wanted to with man but I would not even think to overtalk God.I put an emphasis on with and to because I had the idea of actually conversing with God. He talks,then I talk but with man-it was simply a lecture and I was the lecturer.I was lying to myself. 1 John 4:20 states: “If anyone says, ” I love God,” yet hates his brother,he is a liar. For anyone who does not love his brother,whom he has seen,cannot love God,whom he has not seen.” How could I possibly be quick to speak and slow to listen with man and not be the exact same way with God? I now know this is a false statement because our relationships with man essentially reflects our relationship with God. My old mentality of my commentary being the most important part of a conversation completely disregarded the beautiful and divine Word the Lord may have had for me.

Secondly, I am reaching a point where I am working on putting my trust in the Lord. I mean the type of trust we give to God without intentions of taking it back. Growing up I knew I had to look out for myself. My parents always made sure things were going well but I had to make sure things were going perfectly. Big misconception. The control I thought I had was just my imagination playing tricks on me.

The chorus of the song goes:

Word of God speak
Would You pour down like rain
Washing my eyes to see
Your majesty
To be still and know
That You’re in this place
Please let me stay and rest
In Your holiness 
Word of God speak.

When I first listened to the words in the chorus, I concluded that couldn’t have expressed what was on my heart any better. I was willing to give up the authority I thought I had into the hands of God. Again,humility but this time accompanied with trust. I was at the beginning of a path focused on trusting and relying on the Lord to have the best plan,the best advice, and the best constructive criticism. I was officially content with resting in the Lord’s holy place listening to what He had to say. Even still, I would need for Him to wash my eyes to allow me to truly grasp what it was He had for me to receive. This reminds me of a prayer I recite daily inspired by Deuteronomy 30:6 (NIV): “The LORD your God will circumcise your hearts and the hearts of your descendants, so that you may love him with all your heart and with all your soul, and live.” I ask the Lord to circumcise my eyes,ears,and heart so that I may be able to see,hear,love,and feel according to His will.In essence, there isn’t anything we could say that could even compare to what God has to say. We have to be conscious of the fact that we should no longer be desiring to operate with a carnal mind. Everything from bills to relationships to what we should wear to an interview-EVERYTHING. Our desire should be to cast all cares,worries,and burdens upon the Lord because frankly who else can carry the weight of the world? I can only think of someone who has Heaven as His throne and earth as His footstool.

About Thee Potter's Hand

I am merely a vessel with a desire to be used. View all posts by Thee Potter's Hand

Leave a Reply

