Thanks For the Help God

Psalm 121:1-8 (NIV)

1 I lift up my eyes to the mountains— 
   where does my help come from? 
2 My help comes from the LORD, 
   the Maker of heaven and earth.

 3 He will not let your foot slip— 
   He who watches over you will not slumber; 
4 indeed, He who watches over Israel 
   will neither slumber nor sleep.

 5 The LORD watches over you— 
   the LORD is your shade at your right hand; 
6 the sun will not harm you by day, 
   nor the moon by night.

 7 The LORD will keep you from all harm— 
   He will watch over your life; 
8 the LORD will watch over your coming and going 
   both now and forevermore.


It is so amazing to know that God is constantly giving us help for our daily spiritual walk in Him. Throughout this article I will share verses that shine on the assistance God has given us through Christ, The Holy Spirit, and even through friends and family. Fortunately, God doesn’t throw us into a lion’s den without faithfully saving us. While pushing through trials and tribulations we sometimes wish we had help-from somebody-somewhere-something.We want someone to give us insight,someone to confide in, someone to bounce ideas off of,someone to help us understand. And sometimes we simply want someone to help us celebrate after our breakthroughs and accomplishments.  The Lord said that He would never leave nor forsake us (Hebrews 13:5) implying that the Lord is always with us during our battles and He is always with us as we triumph and rejoice. However, God’s presence can manifest in different ways, some ways that we sometimes don’t even notice.

Jesus

One of Jesus’ roles is to be our Advocate. According to Webster’s dictionary an advocate is: One who pleads the cause of another. Specifically: One who pleads the cause of another before a tribunal or judicial court; a counselor. Jesus pleads for us before the Father. How awesome is that? Jesus is the best lawyer we could ever have or ask for and He is willing to work overtime without extra pay. While Satan,the accuser, (Revelation 12:10) does his job to go before God and accuse us of sin, Jesus is on our side pleading for our freedom. I ask Jesus to intercede and pray for me because I am confident that He is the best one for the job. God exercises His authority with His right hand and Jesus sits on the right hand side of our Father (Ephesians 1:20), signifying that if we wish to reach God and to ask for His favor we must go through the Son (John 14:6).

1 John 2:1-2 (NIV): 1 My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have an advocate with the Father—Jesus Christ, the Righteous One. 2 He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world.”

1 Timothy 2:5 (NIV): “For there is one God and one mediator between God and mankind, the man Christ Jesus.”

Hebrews 8:6;9:15;12:24 (NIV): 8:6 But in fact the ministry Jesus has received is as superior to theirs as the covenant of which He is mediator is superior to the old one, since the new covenant is established on better promises..”,”

9:15 “For this reason Christ is the mediator of a new covenant, that those who are called may receive the promised eternal inheritance—now that he has died as a ransom to set them free from the sins committed under the first covenant.”,

12:24 “to Jesus the mediator of a new covenant, and to the sprinkled blood that speaks a better word than the blood of Abel.”

The Holy Spirit

  • Teaches

Luke 12:12 (NIV): “For the Holy Spirit will teach you at that time what you should say.”

  • Intercedes

Romans 8:26 (NIV): ” In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.”

John 14:16-17, 26 (NIV): 16 And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever— 17 the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him. But you know Him, for He lives with you and will be in you.”

26 “But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.”

  • Leads

Matthew 4:1 (NIV): “Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil.”

  • Gives Life
 Genesis 2:7 (NIV): ” The Lord God formed the man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.
John 6:30-36 (NIV): 30 So they asked him, “What sign then will you give that we may see it and believe you? What will you do? 31 Our ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness; as it is written: ‘He gave them bread from heaven to eat.” 32 Jesus said to them, “Very truly I tell you, it is not Moses who has given you the bread from heaven, but it is my Father who gives you the true bread from heaven. 33 For the bread of God is the bread that comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”34 “Sir,” they said, “always give us this bread.”35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. 36 But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe.”
  • Fills Us

Acts 2:4 (NIV): “All of them were filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues as the Spirit enabled them.”

Friends

Up to this date, God has placed two important friends in my life-two women who are eagerly seeking the Lord. I find myself able to confide in them regarding issues/concerns, questions, and to share Scripture with. One friend is most like a grandmother-in-Christ and the other is most like a mother-in-Christ. I have other friends of course but God is using these two women in a vital way for me during my current stage of spiritual growth. This may not make much sense to those who do not know me on a personal level. For those who don’t-my relationship with my father has always been better than my relationship with my mother. I say better not so that it may have a negative connotation but to indicate that the foundation of my father-daughter relationship was a better contribution to my personal growth and development. However, I pray that my relationship with my mother continues to grow. Parents just like the rest of the human population are imperfect. Romans 3:23 (NIV) ” For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” I write this to express that there isn’t one perfect relationship on this earth because there isn’t one perfect person in it either. Sometimes it appears as if things will never change and that the best of things are over BUT …I know that nothing is over until God says it is over. So for those who do not know me on a personal level, that is some background information necessary to understand some of the relationships God is building in my life. I have concluded that these essential friends are not as coincidental as I once thought.

My grandmother-in-Christ knew me for practically my whole life. This had its pros and cons.  I didn’t have to spend a bunch of time telling her about my life, family, and other general information because she already knew majority of it. But on the other side of things, I was nervous about sharing my testimony with her because I feared that she would look at me differently. I went to visit her once and she showed me pictures of when we (my biological grandmother, myself, my grandmother-in-Christ, and her two grand-daughters) went on vacation when I was about 6. How could I possibly tell her that the sweet and innocent child in those pictures wasn’t the person she was now talking with? I was sure that she would have been too disappointed for words. I was wrong, wrong once again. Once she started to share with me the life she used to live before she was saved-the thought of her being disappointed never crossed my mind again. Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.

My mother-in-Christ also plays a significant role in my life. It is actually a family effort because her whole family is truly a blessing from God. Her husband is like a father and their children are like my siblings. But my closeness with her is unique in helping me grow from a bruised place I was once from my relationship with my own mother. The time we spend together truly means a lot to me because God is allowing things to move at a pace that He desires. We talk about everything-some things easier than others but I appreciate each and every conversation. A week or two ago I was having a really hard time and I drove to their house to talk with her for about an hour or two and left. I simply needed to be reminded of the help and blessings God has given me. 2 hours isn’t a long time but from the moment we began talking I began to feel God’s peace and reassurance that everything will be okay. Originally I wasn’t expecting a super close relationship with her, which is probably why I cherish the friendship so much more because it was God’s doing-it was nothing I could have ever pieced together. My goal is never to replace my mother because God chose how He wanted things to be before I was even in my mother’s womb. However, that does not mean that God doesn’t have plans to fill voids creating by man. In addition to her Christian walk, I truly admire her as a person-as a whole. She is one of the smartest people I have ever met and yet happens to be one of the most humble. I won’t even start with how courageous and optimistic she can be. When I find myself worrying or afraid of something, she is already finding ways to change things around causing the situation to be worried and afraid of the God we serve. When she breaks down Scripture or just life scenarios I think to myself: That is the type of wisdom I want. I know wisdom from God sometimes doesn’t come overnight but interacting with someone who God has already taken to that special place can definitely be inspirational to say the least. I don’t know if she knows it or not but I in some ways actually look up to her. Not to a point where it becomes idolatry but enough to keep my ambition alive and creative juices flowing. God is giving me help in a wide range of areas. During the beginning stages of sharing my testimony with her and her husband, I was devastated at just the thought of having to share with them the things of my past. Now, I think it is safe to say that we know so much about each other’s lives/past that we each can tell some stories as if we were there when they happened. 1 Corinthians 1:10 (NIV): “I appeal to you, brothers ,in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another so there may be no division among you and that you may be perfectly united in mind and thought.” Sharing our testimonies with each other wasn’t to bring division and judgment but to bring us closer together according to God’s divine plan. Only God can judge us anyhow.

Ecclesiastes 4:10 (NIV): “If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up.”

Proverbs 17:17 (NIV): “A friend loves at all times,  and a brother is born for a time of adversity.”

Proverbs 27:17 (NIV): “As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.”

Some moments in my life I have felt just plain hopeless! I still have days where I find myself  in distress and weak, constantly having to remind myself of the help God has given me from the people He has placed in my life. Forget embarrassment from past sin, I want God’s vessels to pray for strongholds to be torn down and for chains of bondage to be broken (Psalm 89:40). I am a firm believer that the more you know, the better you can pray. God tells us to confess our sins to each other because the prayers of a righteous man is powerful and effective (James 5:16). God doesn’t have limitations and He does things according to how He knows they will work best. Some of God’s people experience help the same way I am and some a little differently but it is still operating by the same Spirit. We must have faith in the change that God has promised us. God promises us that the latter will be better than the past as long as we remain in Him (Haggai 2:9). Open your eyes to the help that God has given you-you wouldn’t want to seem ungrateful.

About Thee Potter's Hand

I am merely a vessel with a desire to be used. View all posts by Thee Potter's Hand

One response to “Thanks For the Help God

Leave a Reply

