Never Put Trust In Man

I was talking with a friend a week or two ago and they said, “I don’t trust people.” I thought for a moment and then I responded, “Good…and while you’re at it don’t trust yourself neither.”  I don’t think they quite understood what I was saying but the conversation sparked interest in my mind. People often talk about trust but rarely do we talk about seeking trust in the living God. I think at some point we all have thought or said, “I don’t trust them.” And I agree that we shouldn’t. I cannot think of any reason why we should put our trust in man. With our fallen nature, sometimes the things we do and say can be unpredictable. Only God is worthy to obtain and secure our trust.

Do not rely on man

Hosea 10:13-14 (NIV): 13 But you have planted wickedness, you have reaped evil, you have eaten the fruit of deception. 
Because you have depended on your own strength and on your many warriors, 14 the roar of battle will rise against your people, 
 so that all your fortresses will be devastated—as Shalman devastated Beth Arbel on the day of battle, when mothers were dashed to the ground with their children.”

Micah 7:5 (NIV): ” Do not trust in a neighbor; put no confidence in a friend. Even with her who lies in your embrace be careful of your words.”

Isaiah 30:1-3 (NIV): 1 “Woe to the obstinate children,” declares the LORD, “to those who carry out plans that are not mine, forming an alliance, but not by my Spirit, heaping sin upon sin; 2 who go down to Egypt without consulting me; who look for help to Pharaoh’s protection, to Egypt’s shade for refuge. 3 But Pharaoh’s protection will be to your shame, Egypt’s shade will bring you disgrace.”

Jeremiah 17:5-6 (NIV): ” 5 This is what the LORD says: “Cursed is the one who trusts in man,  who draws strength from mere flesh and whose heart turns away from the LORD. 6 That person will be like a bush in the wastelands;  they will not see prosperity when it comes. They will dwell in the parched places of the desert, in a salt land where no one lives.

Ezekiel 33:13 (NIV): “If I tell a righteous person that they will surely live, but then they trust in their righteousness and do evil, none of the righteous things that person has done will be remembered; they will die for the evil they have done.”

Or the world

 1 Timothy 6:17 (NIV): ” 17 Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment. 18 Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share. 19 In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they may take hold of the life that is truly life.”

Isaiah 31:1 (NIV): ” Woe to those who go down to Egypt for help, who rely on horses, who trust in the multitude of their chariots and in the great strength of their horsemen, but do not look to the Holy One of Isreal, or seek help from the LORD.”

Jeremiah 48:7 (NIV): ” Since you trust in your deeds and riches, you too will be taken captive, and Chemosh will go into exile, together with his priests and officials.”

But instead rely on God

Psalm 18:30 (NIV): “As for God, His way is perfect, the Word of the LORD is flawless. He is a shield for all who take refuge in Him.”

Proverbs 3:5-7 (NIV): 5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;6 in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.7 Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and shun evil.”

Isaiah 2:22 (NIV): ” Stop trusting in man, who has but a breath in his nostrils. Of what account is he?”

Psalm 118:8 (NIV): ” It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in humans.”

Jeremiah 17:7 (NIV): ” 7 “But blessed is the one who trusts in the LORD, whose confidence is in Him. 8 They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green.It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”

Psalm 16:1 (KJV): “Preserve me, O God: for in thee do I put my trust.”

Psalm 33:20-21 (NIV): 20 We wait in hope for the LORD; He is our help and our shield. 21 In Him our hearts rejoice,  for we trust in His holy name.

Proverbs 28:26 (NIV): “He who trusts in himself is a fool, but he who walks in wisdom is kept safe.”

Psalm 25:20-21 (KJV): ” 20O keep my soul, and deliver me: let me not be ashamed; for I put my trust in thee.21 Let integrity and uprightness preserve me; for I wait on thee.”

Psalm 18:30 (KJV): “As for God, His way is perfect: the Word of the LORD is tried: He is a buckler to all those that trust in Him.”

I will share a personal story. Maybe about three years ago I was having a difficult time with something. I was indecisive about what my next move should be and I was unsure if I even HAD an answer. I decided to go to a friend that I had been close with since elementary school. Sounds like the perfect person right? …..Wrong. I talked with her about my dilemma, mostly because I was tired of keeping it a secret and I wanted to get it off of my chest and I was hoping to possibly receive a word of wisdom. I wasn’t saved at the time so talking to God about the situation was the last thing on my mind. This friend and I talked for hours on end about the issue. As the conversation was ending she reassured me that what we discussed would never be mentioned to anyone else. We all know that when a person says they won’t tell-they are already plotting to tell. I learned that the hard way. Initially when she made the statement about trusting her, I began to have thoughts about her broadcasting our conversation but then I thought,  “Why would she do that? After all of these years of us being friends she has to have some loyalty to me.” It is a blessing to no longer be as gullible and overtrustful as I was then. A couple of months later my closest friend from home called me informing me that she ran into a guy we all went to middle school with and that he drilled her with a bunch of questions regarding what was supposed to be my best kept secret. My heart sank. After I gathered myself I realized that a new can of worms was open because I didn’t tell my closest friend yet. If this random guy was asking my closest friend about me and I haven’t seen him since the 8th grade I can only imagine who else knew. I mean he didn’t have any loyalty to me (well apparently neither of them did) so it was almost expected for him to do his share of telling others. My next thought was that if she told this guy who was so distant from us (12 hours driving), it was also safe to assume that our old clique knew. I couldn’t even be upset her because I put my trust in her, my mistake. Should I have been surprised? NO! But was I? Sadly. Like I mentioned before, the actions of humans are unpredictable. Or maybe our actions are predictable–predictable in the sense that we can predict that nothing good naturally comes from us. It is in our natural nature. As mentioned in Psalm 58:3 (NIV): “Even from birth the wicked go astray; from the womb they are wayward, spreading lies.” 

We must keep in mind the individuals we are dealing with, including ourselves. I will make it very clear, I DO NOT TRUST MYSELF APART FROM THE HOLY SPIRIT. Without the Holy Spirit is it impossible for man to rise above what he is by nature. Romans 3:10-18 (NIV): 10 As it is written:“There is no one righteous, not even one; 11 there is no one who understands; there is no one who seeks God. 12 All have turned away, they have together become worthless; there is no one who does good, not even one.” 13 “Their throats are open graves; their tongues practice deceit.” “The poison of vipers is on their lips.” 14 “Their mouths are full of cursing and bitterness.” 15 “Their feet are swift to shed blood; 16 ruin and misery mark their ways, 17 and the way of peace they do not know.” 18 “There is no fear of God before their eyes.”This is why each of us must remain fervent in prayer with hope that all we say and do is pleasing to God. As long as I seek advice from man, I will be in a troubled situation each and every time. Who should I have trusted? God. I know sometimes it seems easier to pick up the phone and call a friend but the next time you start to feel that way take time to gather yourself and examine whether or not you are going to the source of all supply, our Father. He is the only one who can give us accurate advice and answer the questions that seem too advanced for our own minds. The story I shared is probably similar to what a lot of us experience at some point or another as we grow and mature. It is situations like this which leaves us without help or hope of recovery. I surely thought there was nothing I could do to make things better. Instead of expecting my friend not to mention what I shared with her I should have expected that she would. What would have stopped her? If one is not saved they are not being led by the Holy Spirit and if one is not loyal to the Lord it is unthinkable for them to be loyal to others. I try to consult with the Lord about everything. I still catch myself wanting to call that one friend but in all actuality, if he/she hasn’t received a divine word from God, there isn’t anything they could tell me that I couldn’t figure out on my own. Check with God first. He may even lead you to talk with someone who He approves of. I sometimes whisper to Him about how I feel and almost instantly what was gray suddenly becomes as clear as identifying black and white. Yep, He’s my best friend.

I am sure we all can I think of numerous occasions when we have been disappointed and let down. It doesn’t matter the individual-mother, father, sister, brother, or even someone as distant as a stranger. It is unfortunate when we find ourselves in a position where we feel cheated or betrayed. However, I have found comfort in the fact that my disappoint was purely a result of my own doing. If only I had put my trust in the Lord. Even the things we ask help or favor for, we must trust God to get them done. Not that they will be done when, where, and how we expect them to be done but that they will be done nonetheless. A husband or wife shouldn’t rely on their spouse to maintain their financial stability and to make sure all of their bills are paid. God is the one who gives the gift of wealth. Why should we put all of our trust in the best physicians? Jesus is the one who heals all sicknesses and diseases (Psalm 103:2).  Why do we trust teachers to make sure children receive the best education when the Holy Spirit is our Teacher? I am not declaring that investing in good health care and education aren’t important but I am definitely announcing that we cannot stop there. We must recognize God as being supreme. Expectations concerning man is one of the most faulty forms of thinking that I have experienced thus far. Why are we usually disappointed and sad? Because we had expectations that we expected man to fulfill. The Lord will never let us down so the gap had to be on our part. We sometimes fail to realize that humans are all imperfect and thus cannot be held to a position only ordained by and for God. Who can fulfill all of our needs? Who can make a way out of no way? Who can we count on when our paths appear rugged and the situations we find ourselves in are even more strenuous? Who can we trust to share all of our private information with and rest assured that they won’t gossip behind our backs? Who can we trust to share love that surpasses all understanding? No one other than our Father who earnestly watches over His sheep (Psalm 23).

About Thee Potter's Hand

I am merely a vessel with a desire to be used. View all posts by Thee Potter's Hand

2 responses to “Never Put Trust In Man

Leave a Reply

