Superwoman Syndrome

Luke 7: 36-50(NIV): Jesus Anointed by a Sinful Woman

 36 When one of the Pharisees invited Jesus to have dinner with him, he went to the Pharisee’s house and reclined at the table. 37 A woman in that town who lived a sinful life learned that Jesus was eating at the Pharisee’s house, so she came there with an alabaster jar of perfume. 38 As she stood behind him at his feet weeping, she began to wet his feet with her tears. Then she wiped them with her hair, kissed them and poured perfume on them.39 When the Pharisee who had invited him saw this, he said to himself, “If this man were a prophet, he would know who is touching him and what kind of woman she is—that she is a sinner.” 40 Jesus answered him, “Simon, I have something to tell you.” “Tell me, teacher,” he said.41 “Two people owed money to a certain moneylender. One owed him five hundred denarii, and the other fifty. 42 Neither of them had the money to pay him back, so he forgave the debts of both. Now which of them will love him more?” 43 Simon replied, “I suppose the one who had the bigger debt forgiven.”“You have judged correctly,” Jesus said. 44 Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. 46 You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. 47 Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.” 48 Then Jesus said to her, “Your sins are forgiven.” 49 The other guests began to say among themselves, “Who is this who even forgives sins?” 50 Jesus said to the woman, “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.”

How many of us hear stories like this one? Stories about women who eagerly desire to give up their all for Christ? From the very first time I read this passage about a year ago I noticed that the woman did not have a name. She was merely the woman who was known as a sinner. Obviously the emphasis what put on what she did rather than who she was. The next thing I noticed was how brave this woman was. Could you imagine entering the house of a Pharisee as a commonly known sinner? This woman had faith that led her to do the unthinkable even if it would cause her to lose her life. She doesn’t sound like a Superwoman to me; she sounds like a Proverbs 31 woman who desperately wants to be consumed by the power, love, and presence of her Lord.

Like I mentioned before, it isn’t often that we hear stories like this one. Our world is too consumed with the spirit of Jezebel. For those who aren’t familiar, Jezebel was a rebellious woman in the Bible who was very powerful and wicked. She married King Ahab and they together worshiped the false god, Baal. Jezebel was a witch and operated with a spirit of control as she indulged in covetousness, taking everything she or her husband desired, even if it meant shedding the blood of an innocent individual. While I think about women in the media during my life I think of Lil Kim and Nicki Minaj, as they are clear examples of the I will sexually seduce a man, make him my slave, destroy him, then dismiss him.  There are MANY more but just focusing on these two, do you think these two women know what it means to be the bride of the most high God? God doesn’t want a wild, rough neck, blasphemous wife. I know because I was once that type of individual. I would spot a guy, make up in my mind that he is the guy I wanted, get him until I was bored with him, then throw him back into the sea. And no, that isn’t being an independent woman living life freely, it is being a whore.

I am currently enrolled in a woman’s art and identity course. Trust me, I am not in the class because I think that kind of stuff is interesting but because my college requires us to take a women’s studies course. In summary, I think the class is really weird. I guess I really dislike the class because of the spiritual aspect of it. A year ago I might have been with the class, engaged as they pump their fists while they discuss the power of women, or the lack there of. But after receiving wisdom from God, I just sit in class and watch a spirit of Jezebel greet a spirit of lesbianism for an entire class period. We all know that woman experienced inequality and we know that God never means for us to be treated like dirt but lets not mask that as reasons for us to be man haters. Yes, woman was made after man and yes, there is much to say about that. Women have a specific role and I can guarantee that trying to be superior to a man isn’t one of them. How can we not respect and be righteously submissive to a man on earth and expect that we will be humble, gentle, yielding, and sensitive to God?

I can’t speak for anyone else but I love being a woman and I love and accept that I am not a man. In class, as we read articles written by feminist authors, I cringe as they constantly desire to be like men, if not more superior. Many wonder why men are unable to rise and be men while many women knowingly or unknowingly castrate men before they even get a chance to express their masculinity. A little less than a year ago I was in a relationship with a young man who I call Calev, but things were very difficult as I was still brainwashed with the whole, I am an independent Black woman mindset. Calev desperately wanted to be a man and wanted to provide for and protect me but all I could think about was graduating and coming out on top. When he wanted to talk I would sometimes brush him off stating that my academic work was more important that talking to him. When he suggested us living different places I immediately told him that I want to live in Georgia so if he doesn’t like Georgia then he needs to move on. I can give many more examples but my point is that the idea that I didn’t need anyone else, especially a man, was overtaking my mind. Of course school is important but who wants to be one of those women who makes 6  figures but comes home to spend her evenings in quiet, without a husband or children? All too often have I come across women who are physically attractive, who have a great sense of style, who are well-educated, and who can’t even identify with the term debt but hate their lives. They stand around giving speeches about how successful they are but dip and dodge mentioning the reality of how lonely they feel.

Mind you most of these women aren’t saved because there is a difference between being alone and being lonely. With Christ we are never lonely nor are we ever alone. Actually, we don’t have to speak about a woman being able to be with a man physically because frankly, every woman in the world won’t experience an earthly wedding but if she is the bride of Christ, then there will certainly be a spiritual wedding. Back to Calev, things are much different and healthier now. It is the small things that I appreciate like when he takes the initiative to pray first and when he takes responsibility to be the man God wants him to be. I have happily stepped down from wanting to always be first, heard the loudest, and heard most often. We aren’t dating anymore as there is nothing in the Bible that mentions dating but we are courting and in this process God has been showing me that I am no Superwoman. When the world tells us that we can do everything a man can do or better, it is a blatant lie. When I watch Calev seek the plan God has for his life, I see the things he does and how he does them in such a way that only a man can. With that, I also recognize the way I operate and how is it unique to womanhood. Men and women don’t complete but rather compliment each other. There is such beauty in allowing a man to be a man. The women in my family have been known to lead matriarchal households where they are the head and the men just kind of tag along. When we come to our Groom that must change because Christianity is patriarchal. I was raised to never need a man, if I get married to always have my personal stash of money and possessions aside from what my husband and I shared, and that a man should never come between me and my female friends. Does anyone else see how these “rules” set us up to be lesbians before we even know what a lesbian is? If God pairs us with a husband who is after His own heart why would we want to keep anything from him? Why would a grown woman be married but remain closer to a female friend than to her husband? I personally believe that once we reach a certain age that we innately want to  have our tightest earthly relationship with the opposite sex. I would be concerned if a woman shares her deepest and most personal sentiments with another woman when she should be sharing that intimacy with her husband. And if you are with someone who you feel like you can’t trust, then you shouldn’t be with them.

The Superwoman Syndrome conditions us at a very young age to believe that we should postpone marriage and children until we get our own piece of the American pie. If I collected a nickel for each time I heard the, “If a man cannot match you financially then he isn’t for you” phrase, I would be rich. I believe that you can marry a rich bum and that you can also marry a poor bum. Forget the money, I need a husband who is willing to fast and pray for me, not a man who finds comfort in the fact that he can commit adultery and make things better by upgrading my wedding band.

I know I always go back to Proverbs 31 but it is always relevant, just as every word of God is. Two weeks ago I was at the hair salon and my stylist began asking me about all that was new in my life. As usual, I started off by telling her my recent accomplishments in school and different career options I have been thinking about pursuing. After about 2 mins she cut me off and said, “Okay enough about business. You have always handled business and been on top of your school work. What about your love life?” I had to laugh because although I am in a courtship, I typically keep those details between me and close friends and family. I was so excited to tell her about all of the love God is giving me from all different directions and how I am just soaking it all up. Could you imagine that months ago I was brushing Calev off for a dollar? To be the most paid woman I know? To prove that I didn’t need a man for anything, other than to fix my car?

Somebody puhleaseee come get this Superwoman cape because there is no place for it here. I have a Groom whose Holy Spirit I need to be vulnerable to, a Groom who desires to protect me and provide for me, and a Groom who is so powerful and divine that I willingly want to be submissive to Him. Actually, now that I think about the goodness of the Lord and Him teaching me my role as His bride, no one needs to come get this Superwoman cape because I am throwing it out my front door. Who needs to be a Superwoman when God surpasses any and every idea of a Superman? Submit to the authority of our God so that we may overcome the spirit of Jezebel.

About Thee Potter's Hand

I am merely a vessel with a desire to be used. View all posts by Thee Potter's Hand

7 responses to “Superwoman Syndrome

  • Martin Lewis

    Lol, well (i gotta choose my words carefully here, because we know that’s what Jesus’ children do.) But I have much to tell you about how Christ has been traversing throughout my life. It’s actually JUST the way somebody like our Lord and Savior would conduct himself, but we can get into that later. I just wanted to tell you how truly happy I am for you and as always, I pray that hedge of protection stay above you.

    Keep the faith.
    DMJL

  • Naledi Makumsha

    Hey,could you please explain to me the difference between courtship and dating. I really need clarity on this.

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      Naledi Makumsha,

      Thank you for commenting. 🙂 In essence, God has dealt with me on the topic of courtship and dating in the perspective of the intentions. Traditionally, dating has been something welcomed by the world, suggesting a series of sins including sexual immorality. On the other end, courting has traditionally been known to represent a more Godly sense of “dating” with intentions to actually marry. Either way, I encourage you to seek God in all things. As humans we typically like to give God our finances and health but like to take over when it comes to love and relationships. As you continue to ask God to prepare you for your future, simply ask that He lead you. God doesn’t play games and He doesn’t set us up for failure. Never put trust in man and as long as you put and keep your heart in the Lord, everything will certainly fall into place. I hope this answered your question. 🙂

  • Naledi Makumsha

    Thank you so much. I’m so grateful hey 🙂

Leave a Reply

