Preparing For His Many Seasons

Where do I start?

 Genesis 1:14 (KJV): “And God said, Let there be lights in the firmament of the heaven to divide the day from the night; and let them be for signs, and for seasons, and for days, and years.” 

God has seasons, many of them. The Bible even tells us so that we can be prepared. It isn’t a matter of possibly entering a season or leaving one because it WILL happen. If anything, it is a matter of preparation.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-11 (KJV):1To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:2A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted; 3A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;4A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;5A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;6A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;7A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;8A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.9What profit hath he that worketh in that wherein he laboureth?10I have seen the travail, which God hath given to the sons of men to be exercised in it.11He hath made every thing beautiful in his time: also he hath set the world in their heart, so that no man can find out the work that God maketh from the beginning to the end.”

Within the past few months God has been showing a tiny bit of the way He works, when He transitions us through seasons. My studying abroad just being one of them, He has gotten my attention in a very unusual way. I received news a few weeks ago and while the news isn’t really important–it was so shocking that I had to run into the bathroom and simply cry. I cried because God was preparing me for a new season, a season that I knew would be coming. While in the bathroom for a short while I gathered myself, deciding to reach out and talk with someone from back home. I decided to call a special young man in my life, who I call Calev. I was frustrated with the fact that while trying to reach out to America my email shut down, I couldn’t make phonecalls, and text messages barely went through. It seemed like everything was being blocked. At one point Calev was able to send me a text that read, ” Maybe God is trying to get your attention. Maybe He is shutting everything down so that you can cry out to Him.” This made perfect sense. Why didn’t I think of that? And so I did. I went back into the bathroom and I cried and cried and cried. I cried not because the news was necessarily bad, and not necessarily because I was informed that a new season was approaching but I was crying because I didn’t feel prepared for the season to change. I could only ask the Lord to help me be ready. As I cried out to Him all I could say was, “Lord, please just give me a little more time.”

Acts 1:7 (KJV): “And he said unto them, It is not for you to know the times or the seasons, which the Father hath put in his own power.”

Will God give me more time? Who knows. But do I need to get ready…regardless? I sure do.

I want to share another example. As I prepare for my last year in college, I find myself intimidated by the season I am leaving and the season that is waiting for me. I don’t know the season but I know there has to be one, God doesn’t run out of seasons or plans for us.

I had a dream months ago about my family throwing me a going away party before I left to travel abroad. The dream was odd to me because as individuals came to my house, they each had a baby gift. As I saw each baby gift I thought, ” Why are they bringing all of this baby stuff? I am no baby!” But as the dream continued, I found myself sitting on my living room floor similar to how I used to when I was about 3 or 4 years old, playing with dolls. Not only was my house full with baby gifts, but I was sitting on the floor acting like a baby! After the dream I decided I would no longer fear studying abroad or my life changing according to His will.

Last week I had another dream. In the dream it was the graduation day of this year’s class, 2012. As the seniors of my college crossed the stage my school brought out a cake crowning my class, 2013, the new seniors. Within seconds everyone disappeared and I was alone with the cake. I looked to my left and there was a baby crawling towards the cake. I looked, wondering whose baby it was. The baby and I seemed to understand how each other was feeling, although we didn’t say a word to each other. For the remainder of the dream the baby and I sat in front of the cake, slowly eating the icing until there was none left covering the cake.

Genesis 8:22 (KJV): “While the earth remaineth, seedtime and harvest, and cold and heat, and summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease.” 

Now, I don’t like to go deep into interpreting dreams unless the Lord gives me wisdom and insight. However, these dreams seem to have a clear message. I am fearful of the seasons before me. Just as I  shared above, my prayer has been, “God give me more time,” when they should actually be, “God, prepare me for this new season.” We can’t run or hide from the seasons that await us. We must only ask that we are prepared for them. A season to begin new relationships. A season to end old relationships. Even a season to have physically distant relationships, which allow you to become more spiritually connected. Some seasons are temporary, while others can be permanent. 

Daniel 2:12 (KJV): “And he changeth the times and the seasons: he removeth kings, and setteth up kings: he giveth wisdom unto the wise, and knowledge to them that know understanding.”

Wouldn’t life be boring and probably fruitless without seasons? I know I certainly wouldn’t want Satan riding me for more than a season! He is annoying just for the season he gets to tempt. Luke 4:13 (KJV): ” And when the devil had ended all the temptation, he departed from him for a season.” God does us a favor with giving us time to prepare even for our season of temptation. Sometimes entering a new season can make us feel discouraged, especially if things are tight and seem to lack very little fruit, if any at all.Galatians 6:9 (KJV): “And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.” Know that even the Heavens and the Earth adhere to His seasonsPsalm 104:19 (KJV): “He appointed the moon for seasons: the sun knoweth his going down. The seasons of the year are only possible because He embedded seasonal instructions into them. Everything truly does have a season.
I want everyone to be encouraged by the seasons He is taking you out of or bringing you into. He says He knows the plans He has for us (Jeremiah 29:11). I write this to you all as I first write to myself–do not fear. Our God is a mighty God and everything He does, He does it with our best interest in mind. So many seasons, so many changes, so many blessings. Even the seasons that are storms, still remain as blessings. Some seasons may seem more drastic than others or more unexpected than the last but hold tight– He isn’t an overbearing or overwhelming God. I often feel like I am not ready for a new season simply because I had gotten so comfortable in the season that I was in. I was so comfortable in the old that I became intimidated and fearful for the new. We all experience this stage of uncertainty at some point but we MUST be still and know that He is God (Psalm 46:10).
 1 Thessalonians 5:1 (KJV): “But of the times and the seasons, brethren, ye have no need that I write unto you.”
Again, it isn’t a matter of there being a change of seasons. The goal is simply that we are ready for the change. We must not rush the seasons. We must not try to postpone the seasons. We must merely buckle down and prepare for His many seasons. Keeping in mind that obedience is better than sacrifice (1 Samuel 15:22) . If we hold fast to the leading of the Holy Spirit, it is only then that we can be prepared for our seasons in Him, decently and in order (1 Corinthians 14:40). 
Matthew 24:32 (KJV): “Now learn a parable of the fig tree; When his branch is yet tender, and putteth forth leaves, ye know that summer is nigh.” 

Help us prepare Lord. As we stand with our armor on. As we stand with an open mind and heart to Your leading. As we stand singing songs of praise during our quiet times with You. As we cry out to You yelling, “Abba!” As we nervously ask for directions from You. As we recognize that the world doesn’t have the answers…. but that You do. As we fervently seek, pray and fast to serve You in Spirit and in Truth– prepare us. Even if our hearts ache in disappointment. Even if our mind is foggy with confusion. Even if we rant in anger. Please break our flesh and prepare our spirit. Your will above our own. Amen.
 
Psalm 1:3 (KJV): “And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.
About Thee Potter's Hand

I am merely a vessel with a desire to be used. View all posts by Thee Potter's Hand

3 responses to “Preparing For His Many Seasons

  • Vessel of God

    Will, be thinking and praying for you as you approach a new season in your life. Fear is a terrible disabling emotion which we need to overcome in order to be obedient, grow and do the work we have been created to do. Pray to overcome whatever thoughts may be causing you to hold on and not move forwards.

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      Vessel of God,

      Thanks for commenting! Fear is certainly something that needs to be eliminated in our lives as His servants. While I am unsure of the season ahead of me, I pray that I am prepared for it and that I am obedient in every way. Even the fear of the unknown can be troublesome, as even that is linked to having doubt in the promises of God. We must overcome. 🙂

      Much love in Christ!

  • URL

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: theepottershand.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/preparing-for-his-many-seasons/ […]…

Leave a Reply

