A Dehydrated Well

John 4:13-14 (KJV): 13Jesus answered and said unto her, Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again:14But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.”

I love water. I love the way it tastes, the health benefits it offers, and how abundant the supply is. However, while on Spring Break vacation I was traveling so much that I was not able to consume as much water as my body is used to and my body recognized. I found myself light-headed, wanting to drink more than I wanted to eat, having numerous headaches, unable to sleep because of nausea, and experiencing weakness. I didn’t like this feeling so I made it my business to get water each time that I could, even if it resulted in me rushing to the restroom all throughout the night. It was worth it because I didn’t want to do damage to my body. My water intake needed to be monitored because it is clearly vital for our existence, as we know that our body is made up of more water than anything else.

John 7:38 (KJV): 38He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.”

Have you ever felt that God was far away? Like He is wasn’t as close as He used to be? The same way my flesh let me know that I physically needed water, my spirit has also alarmed me of my spiritual dehydration as well.

Isaiah 44:3 (KJV): ” 3For I will pour water upon him that is thirsty, and floods upon the dry ground: I will pour my spirit upon thy seed, and my blessing upon thine offspring.”

These past few weeks I have found myself asking God where He is. When I don’t seem to hear a response I begin to think. Similarly to how I used to do as a child when I heard my parents yell my name with super authority. I would scan my mind of all of the things that I could have done wrong. When asking God where He is I find myself scanning my mind, thinking of sins I may have committed to push Him away. Sure, I sin each and every day but I couldn’t think of any sin I was freely indulging in. I began to think it was something different that He wanted to bring to my attention. The transgressions that came to mind were sins that I had been fighting against and repented for, plus God didn’t put on my heart that there was something specific that He wasn’t pleased with. So what else could it be? Why does my bestfriend seem so far? Why does Satan feel closer than God? Where could my First Love be? Does He know that I love Him? I know that He loves me. So where is He? Is He really quiet or can I simply not hear Him? Am I talking too much, not giving Him enough time or opportunity to talk? Is He talking but not saying what I want to hear? Something isn’t right and I can’t sweep it under the carpet. I want to address it so my Father and I can continue in holy collaboration.

Psalm 42: 1-2 (KJV): 1As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God.2My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?”

I am learning that aside from our sins, God can hide from us JUST so that we can seek Him. It is a terrible feeling to feel distant from someone you care for so deeply. But the key is that if we REALLY love God, we will take heed to His getting our attention. We often say that we love Him but the proof is if we keep His commandments (John 14:15). I appreciate that I am even able to recognize the presence of God because I was only aware after I stopped treating God like a business partner and began to seek Him as a Groom. He gives us a mind to know when something isn’t right. We have no wisdom. We have no knowledge. We have no insight– aside from what He gives us. We must praise Him for giving us understanding of spiritual things.

John 7:37 (KJV): ” 37In the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried, saying, If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink.”

I understand what God is doing in my life at the moment. He is allowing me to know what it is like for Him to not feel as close as what I am used to. I thank Him for giving me a mind and heart to recognize what is going on and I pray that He gives me the perseverance to forever seek Him. Thirst that will drive me to pick up the Bible before I pick up a fashion magazine or listen to a sermon rather than seeing what the world is up to. Being thirsty for Him will encourage me to pray as soon as I open my eyes rather checking my iPad as soon as I realize I am awake. God gives us things and people to enjoy but our thirst puts Him first. The fact that I am clueless and unsure about a lot of things in my life right now gives opportunity for the thirst for our Savior to provide answers. The questions I have can only be answered by Him and guess what? He will only give them if I seek Him. He isn’t a machine that spits out what we want after we push a button and He doesn’t work like Google–one click cannot solve all of our problems. Thirst allows us to become hidden in Him but it is different from anything that is and will ever be required for us to do on Earth. He knows that, which is why He gets our attention –so that we can step it up for Him. We live by His standards, not the world’s.

Matthew 5:6 (KJV): 6Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.”

I am forever grateful knowing that my thirst in Him can be filled. It is only because I am human that I have potential to have a spiritually dehydrated well. I mean we naturally try to become complete in the world and unfortunately we become so comfortable that we sometimes lose our integrity of remaining competent in our Father’s kingdom. Or maybe it is fortunate because our weakness and folly allows His divine interventions to give Him glory. Our thirst for Him humbles us and reminds us that WE NEED HIM! I appreciate anything that gives our Father glory and I pray that I take the necessary steps to edify Him in all that I do.

John 19:28 (KJV): 28After this, Jesus knowing that all things were now accomplished, that the scripture might be fulfilled, saith, I thirst.”

Lord, I am nothing without You. I am weak, but I want to boast in Your strength. I am thirsty for You and I want Your living water to flow through me. I have been selfish but I ask that You to make me selfless. I confess that when You feel far, my life shatters. I want more of You and nothing less. I want You in my heart, forever–as I pray that I follow You all of the way to glory. You are my everything Father. If I am in error in any way, please correct my path. I beg that You search my heart and expose any wicked way that be in me. I pray for humility, that I may humbly do Your work only remaining confident in the ability of Your power, Your authority, and Your strength. This is why I can boast in my weakness, because it provides opportunity for Your edification. I want You to consume my entire being. I want the sweet scent of Your word to be entangled in every fiber of existence. I want my flesh completely crucified and my spirit to be completely alive in You. Help me remain thirsty Lord, I beg of You. I love You only because You loved me first. I want the Holy Ghost fire to shock my system, causing my heart to beat to a rhythm unknown to man. I want a new song of praise, a new dance, a new jubilee unto You. I don’t want the muddy water from puddles in the world. I don’t want artificially flavored water from Satan. I want Your holy water! I pray that You keep me focused, desperate, eager, and thirsty for You. All of the way to glory. Amen.

Revelation 7:16-17 (KJV): 16They shall hunger no more, neither thirst any more; neither shall the sun light on them, nor any heat.17For the Lamb which is in the midst of the throne shall feed them, and shall lead them unto living fountains of waters: and God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes.”


About Thee Potter's Hand

I am merely a vessel with a desire to be used. View all posts by Thee Potter's Hand

8 responses to “A Dehydrated Well

  • Naphtali

    very good! a wonderful parallel….

  • Terra Newsome

    Amen! I am always in need of the Living Water. Running this race makes one thirsty. I hope to gain a refreshing each and every time. I don’t want to just be a hearer but a doer of the Word. It’s not a good feeling at knowing when we can’t feel the presence of God near. We are lost without him. All praise be unto him for valuable teachings and lessons.

    Blessings to you Sister!

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      Hey Sister,

      Thanks for commenting. May we forever remain thirsty for Him. You’re right, we are indeed lost without Him and knowing that keeps us humble. I pray that we never lose sight of who He is and what He does and what He can do. Always wonderful hearing from you!!

      Much love in Christ!

  • Justin Cook

    I once again thank the Lord for you Na’chee! This is exactly what I needed to see at this moment in my life. It is no longer a coincidecne that when I am lost or confused, I can run to your blog and be encouraged. Thank you, and continue to preach the word of the Lord.

    Justin

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      Justin,

      It is so great to hear from you brother. I am glad this article was a blessing for you! Remember that we are all fighting the same fight and that should be encouraging. You are never alone for He is first always with you. He has given us connections with the Body of Christ to help when they(we) can. Keep pushing and even if you don’t understand, simply ask for His wisdom, knowledge, truth, and understanding. Hope to chat with you soon!

      Much love in Christ!

  • Cristal

    The wonderful refreshment and nourishment of Living Water! I wonder why we ever try to quench our thirst with anything else.

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      Cristal,

      That is a good question about why we look to anything else to quench our thirst. As a child I hated water and I would try to quench my thirst with apple, grape, and cranberry juice. I was never big on soda so I thought Gatorade was my easiest way to get fluids without specifically drinking water. Each and every time I only became more thirsty (As I am sure you already know). Same thing spiritually. Whether it be pure laziness, rebelliousness, or ignorance we naturally would rather look for something in and of the world to quench a spiritual thirst. I just thank God for giving us wisdom so that we may recognize that His living water alone is what can quench a dehydrated well– naturally and spiritually. 🙂

      God Bless!

Leave a Reply

