But I am Tired!

Matthew 11:28-29 (KJV): “28Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.”

I used to think that I had the most baggage in the world. I was absolutely convinced that I had indulged in more sin than anyone I knew and anyone that I would ever meet. I just thank the good Lord that I was wrong but even if that was the case, His love and power goes deeper than any sin I had ever touched. I had baggage when I came to the Lord, no doubt about that!

Psalm 55:22 (KJV): “Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and he shall sustain thee: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved.”

I was encouraged to write this article after many weeks of stress of confusion. I am a worrier. I am not proud of it but it is true and I am working on it. I have noticed that the exact things I stress about after knowing the Lord are the same things I stressed about before knowing the Lord. Something isn’t right. Didn’t Christ die so that we could have abundant life? The issue isn’t Christ taking our burdens but more so us giving Him our burdens and more importantly, us giving our burdens to the Lord and NOT taking them back. Jeremiah 6:16 (KJV):16Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein.”

I think we all know that baggage can come from every avenue and that different things can be considered baggage depending on the perspective. Our baggage can be sin. Our baggage can be current circumstances. Our baggage can be carried down 4 generations before us leaving the bags torn and covered with holes but still managing to hold curses and the anxieties that go along with them. Galatians 6:2(KJV):2Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ.” Regardless of the baggage, it is time to give them to God and to leave them there! We have baggage because we are human and if we didn’t get a chance to experience the burden of baggage then we would never get a chance to experience the sovereignty of God as He effortlessly takes our baggage and throws them in the sea of forgetfulness. Psalm 68:19 (KJV): 19Blessed be the Lord, who daily loadeth us with benefits, even the God of our salvation. Selah.”

Sometimes when I think of the sins I struggle with I become plain ole tired. When I am encouraged to fight I only think about how tired I am of fighting. Like God, “Why can’t this be gone already? I am tired of this baggage.” The key is that if I am still struggling then that means my flesh still has it. God has nothing to do with anything that is unclean or unrighteous. If something unlike Him is part of our lives, it is because we have a tight grip on it. When God deals with something, He deals with it and He crushes it. When we hold on to baggage it is essentially trying to step on the toes of God and telling Him that we have the power and authority to deal with burdens–even more capable than Him. Isaiah 41:13 (KJV): 13For I the LORD thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee.” We may not intentionally say this to God but when we refuse to give our burdens to Him or rest them at His feet and go to pick them up again, we are saying that we would rather have them. I am guilty of each of these things but it wasn’t intentional. In the world I was so used to operating with my flesh that I was conditioned to believe that I was in charge, making sure everything was being handled. I had no power then to deal with such heaviness and I don’t now but since I now know Christ, I am encouraged to do things the proper way. I now have the mind to pray to God giving Him my burdens regardless of what they are. I am in no position to handle (become weighed down) by them.1 John 5:3 (KJV): “3For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments: and his commandments are not grievous.” I want to honor our Father by showing Him that I trust and have faith in the fact that He will work things out with my best interest in mind.

1 Peter 5:7 (KJV):7Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.”

Lord, please help me to cast all of my burdens unto You. I am tired of the place where I am in You and it is only because I am holding on to my burdens. I need to give these sins to You and not try to end them on my own. I need to give You my broken heart and allow you to mend every muscle, vein, and capillary connected. When I worry, stress, and panic because of anxiety I pray that You remind me of who You are rather than what my burdens are. I am sorry for trying to do Your job. I give You my secret sins. I give You my greatest fears. I give You the pain that runs too deep for me to even discuss. I give You all of my burdens Father. Please help me, I beg of You. Amen.

John 14:27 (KJV):27Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”
About Thee Potter's Hand

I am merely a vessel with a desire to be used. View all posts by Thee Potter's Hand

8 responses to “But I am Tired!

  • Terra

    You are in my prayers Sister. Just keep holding on and trusting God for your breakthrough. Cast down every negative thought and action that tries to consume you. God is a forgiving Father. Fear not and do not grow weary. Lay your cares before the feet of the Lord.

    Blessings to you…..

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      Sister, I am forever grateful for your prayers. I am still fighting, no doubt about that–even if it seems like I will never win. I pray that I always have the mind of Christ, renewing my mind and watching what I feed my temple. Thank you for your listening ear and encouragement. Even if I continue to struggle, nothing you share that God has put on your heart is spoken in vain.

      Much love in Christ

  • thewriteway2live

    Hey sis!! I LOVE what you wrote!! It totally speaks to me just because we all get tired sometime. Keep writing and thank you for the encouraging words!! I’m praying for you and love you dearly!!

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      TheWriteWay2Live,

      Hey Sis! We surely all experience fatigue at some point but thank God for His strength so that we can keep pushing! Be encouraged, regardless of what it is you are doing through! We cannot do it but He can. Rest on Him.

      Love you dearly!!!

  • Michelle

    Very good post! Lets me know that I am not alone in the struggle….I still think about our e-mail correspondence we had a month or two ago. I still want to thank you for taking time out to reply to me.

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      Michelle,

      It is so great to hear from you. :). I can assure you that you are not alone! We are simply vessels who are instructed to pick up our cross daily and to seek Him. Be encouraged and keep fighting. Whatever you do, don’t stop fighting. No need to thank me for responding to your email, I am here to be all that He means for me to be. If He leads you to reach out again, don’t hesitate to. We are the Body of Christ and we are encouraged to help and intercede for each other in our times of need. Allow God to restore you and just stay before Him in His holy place. The Scripture will renew your mind and His Holy Spirit alone will bear witness and give understanding. Regardless of past hurt and confusion, Christ has come to give us life more abundantly. Take Him up on His offer, He won’t lead you wrong. 🙂 Again, I am here to be His vessel. It isn’t about me but about the Father and His kingdom. God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

