Your Will, Not Mine

Proverbs 3:5-6 (KJV): 5Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. 6In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

As I talked with a dear Sister in the Lord today I thought about what it means to truly walk in the will of God, daily. I mean, we sometimes tend to think more about His will when things are big but what about every day life? What about walking in His will from the big to the small? From the serious to the causal?

Romans 12:2 (KJV): ” 2And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”

God,

Hey, it is me again. I want to talk with You about me following Your will. I am learning to trust You concerning my career, my love life, and even about life’s challenges concerning finances and health. But You know, I have been thinking about my trust in You in my daily life. I want to offer myself as a living sacrifice to You. I want to trade the plans I have for today and the schedule I have created for Yours. Jeremiah 29:11 (KJV):11For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” I never meant to make an agenda and simply fit You into it. I appreciate You renewing my mind because I know You are the reason why I even recognized my error. I want to state that I give You every second of my life, not just the big circumstances. I cannot give You issues concerning my socioeconomic status but try to appoint the revealing of my love life. You know I don’t mean to God. I have just been so used to doing things my way. From the depths of my heart, I surrender to You and Your perfect will. It may be easier said than done but I want to be both a hearer and a doer of Your word. You said that if I love You that I will keep Your commandments. Though Your commandments and instructions in the Bible are clear, I must not overlook the daily leading of the Holy Spirit as He speaks sometimes more often than I am in a position to hear. Help me to be more in tune with You Father. I give You my life to sculpt and mold, even if it is the complete opposite of what I have imagined. Even if Your will appears to seem impossible, unrealistic, intimidating, and even an inconvenience, help me to know that Your thoughts are not my thoughts. When I begin to think that I know something please remind me that I know nothing. I have to thank You for how wise You are. I am learning to stop questioning You and to just trust and thank You instead. 1 Thessalonians 5:18 (KJV): ” 18In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” I could have never imagined the day that I could say this and genuinely mean it: Your will Father, not mine. I am naturally selfish, yes, but You are the perfect example of being selfless. Luke 22:42 (KJV): “Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done.” Life is throwing me a lot of interesting turns and curves but I need to find refuge in You even if Your will takes me on a detour while on the path You have already planned. Why do I continue to act like I have some type of control? When I get ahead of myself please remind me that You knew me before the Earth was created. I am so foolish and You are so clever. How grateful I am to have You because otherwise I would clearly be a lost cause. I guess this prayer sparked a yearning in my heart because of the many questions that I do not have the answers to. I can’t even answer to what my day will consist of tomorrow but that is fine as I remember that You instruct us to not worry about tomorrow because today has its own troubles. Once upon a time I would try to have everything in what I thought was decently and in order but unless You are the Conductor, that was an unreasonable goal. From the clothes that I wear, to the places that I do, to the things that I pursue, I pray that You are in the midst. I have learned the hard way that You must approve and bless each step so that Your anointing may rest upon it. I want success and prosperity in Your name so yup, I am dropping my will. What do I know? I sometimes forget the day of the week so it is a good thing that I can find comfort in Your plan. I pray that You give me a mind to ask You about everything! I do not want to step out of Your will and spoil your gifts. Your gifts of life and salvation. I have come too far to fall short when Your mercy endures for me and the rest of Your children. I need my mind to be restructured so that everything I do is about You, not me. No room for pride. No room for rejection. No room for condemnation. No room for anything that isn’t of You. I guess I will get ready for bed now Lord. I simply wanted to tell You that I love You and that I want You to take control of my life. I want Your Holy Spirit to drive everything I do from my getting up to my going to sleep. I want to honor You as I humbly exercise Your power as Your vessel. I must have circumcised ears, eyes, and heart to receive You clearly. I want to move when You say move and I want to stay when You tell me to stay. When I accepted You into my heart I dropped mine for Yours. Please give me a mind to not go to man, including myself but instead please give me a burning desire to seek and furthermore fulfill Your perfect and divine plan. Amen.

Isaiah 58:11 (KJV): 11And the LORD shall guide thee continually, and satisfy thy soul in drought, and make fat thy bones: and thou shalt be like a watered garden, and like a spring of water, whose waters fail not.”

About Thee Potter's Hand

I am merely a vessel with a desire to be used. View all posts by Thee Potter's Hand

2 responses to “Your Will, Not Mine

  • Martin

    Nice to know your well. This sounds like your describing a problem with discernment of His will. I actually had the same thirst for doing what He wanted me to do, thus arriving at the same questions, earlier this semester. So I went to my elders in the faith to get some advice, and I’ll share with you, what I feel was the best advice that I received.

    When I approached a lead chaplain at one of Atlanta’s major hospitals with this same question, she told me that I was looking at the issue from a dualist viewpoint. Where there’s an absolute right, and an absolute wrong way to discern his message. She told me that I needed to look at it more as a pendulum type effect. She later informed me that what she meant by this was simply that as Christians our duty is to be constantly moving towards Christ. However, our highs or joyous points in the Lord wouldn’t be considered highs if we weren’t cognizant of the lows from which we came from to get to that high point.

    One of the main things you want to ensure is that you don’t become stagnant and level off. Due to the fact that we are all born into sin, it’s a given that there will always be a better way of conducting our day. But as long as when you look onto yesterday, last week, month, or year, and you find progressive change, then your moving in the right direction. And we both know that thats on to Zion.

    Have a blessed end of the academic year.
    DMJL

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      Martin,

      I wouldn’t really say that this post is about an issue discerning His will but simply asking that His will be done. The process where we realize how much of our lives we decide and take control over when He instructs us to look to Him for everything, big and small– troubling and joyous. My prayer is that He makes me mindful of the times when I say what I am going to do rather than asking what He wants me to do. Something as simple as making a strict schedule to go to school, go to lunch, then going to practice and home can be completely different than what He had planned for that day. He could want me to go to school but instead of going to lunch or practice He may want me somewhere else doing work for the Kingdom. Not that there would be an issue finding out what He wants but some things we don’t know simply because we don’t ask. In the world we are conditioned to doing things our way and after coming to know Christ everything must become His way.

      God Bless!

Leave a Reply

