God Shares Thoughts

Proverbs 3:7 (KJV): Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the Lord, and depart from evil.”

My entire life I have wanted to be smart. Of course as a child I did not really know what it meant to be wise but I was familiar with what it meant to be smart. If I didn’t know before, I learned quickly when I caught on to power of grades, tests, and school. Fortunately, I have always loved to read and talk about things that were deeper than gossip and small talk. From what I can remember, I always liked to talk with adults simply because I felt like they had knowledge to offer. If I didn’t know what something was, I asked. Yep, I was that kid with a million and one questions. I suppose this desire for knowledge (after the leading of the Holy Spirit) is what drove me to become a Psychology major and Philosophy minor. I do not believe and receive everything I learn as my the Father is my first teacher and His word is my standard of Truth. Psychologist and especially Philosophers are typically known to be very intelligent and the deepest of the deep. However, to my surprise after coming to know God, I learned that worldly knowledge isn’t deep at all.

Proverbs 1:7 (KJV): The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge: but fools despise wisdom and instruction.”

When I was first saved I heard someone mention praying that the Father give them supernatural wisdom, knowledge, truth, and understanding. I never thought to ask God for that because I thought I was in school to gain knowledge and that wisdom would come with age. But the missing term was supernatural. I was so excited to pray my first few weeks after salvation that I was willing to try this new prayer, just to give me another reason to talk with my Beloved (See I was still treating God like a business partner. We never need a “reason” to talk with Him). Anyway, it seemed like overnight that He answered my prayers. Two things began to happen. My studies became super easy and the Bible became more understandable than ever. I was half disappointed that what I thought to be deep wasn’t deep at all but still very thankful that I had then recognized that God alone is deep AND He gave me the tools to understand the true deepness of His being. James 1:5 (KJV): If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.” Similarly to the understanding of the Word I mentioned in the article Saturate My Mind, the message of the Bible became revealed to me. Certainly my prayer for His wisdom and knowledge will never end because I still have so much to learn but I can honestly say that I have come a long way. James 3:17 (KJV): 17 But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.” As I sat in my Psychology and Philosophy courses these past few semesters I began to wonder how these authors/scholars/whatever you want to call them could understand everything but the Bible. Even before I began studying Psychology and Philosophy I was a Biology major with a Pre-med concentration and I saw the same pattern, majority of the scientists I had come in contact with understood what seemed to be everything…until it came to the Gospel. Wow.  Thank God, I was on to something. Proverbs 13:10 (KJV): 10 Only by pride cometh contention: but with the well advised is wisdom.” The true wisdom that we all seek can only come from God! We must be advised by Him. I find it very unfortunate that some individuals find themselves on the road to Truth but become crippled by some type of detour. Even if someone believes 99.9% of the Truth, that 1% of error makes their entire belief untrue. It doesn’t take much to confuse or contaminate. We have to accept His whole truth, not pick and choose. That 1% is definitely something that the Lord can address and change but once our mind has been poisoned by the lies of the world and ultimately Satan, our “wisdom” becomes perverted. Proverbs 19:20 (KJV): 20 Hear counsel, and receive instruction, that thou mayest be wise in thy latter end.” These detours or curve balls that Satan has become so good at presenting is the root of many of the divisions within the Body of ChristDon’t be surprised to know that false doctrine extracts some of what we all know to be true. I have noticed that in some doctrines, specifically the Jehovah’s Witnesses, tend to insert some truth right before false doctrine is slid in as well. Satan has been around for much longer than we have and if he can feed us enough truth to get us hooked, he can then sneak lies between cracks, playing on ignorance. I spoke with someone who used to study with Jehovah’s Witnesses and though they mentioned the Trinity and did not reject the power thereof, they also did not realize that the Jehovah’s Witnesses believe that Jesus is Michael the Archangel and that they did not believe in Hell. The pieces of Truth caught her attention but the lies and confusion corrupted it. As humans we never like to be wrong, we never like to “not know.” This is what drives individuals to make up stuff, trying to make sense of only something He can help us understand. Proverbs 15:31 (KJV): 31 The ear that heareth the reproof of life abideth among the wise.”

I often speak with a lot of people who state how wise they think I am at such a young age. I want to clarify that I do not have any wisdom of my own. I pray to God each day asking that He give me supernatural wisdom, knowledge, truth, and understanding. It isn’t about age, it is about knowing Jesus. Proverbs 29:11 (KJV): 11 A fool uttereth all his mind: but a wise man keepeth it in till afterwards.” The Father has no respecter of persons and for that very reason He wants to bless each of His children with the wisdom that they ask for. Psalm 37:30 (KJV): 30 The mouth of the righteous speaks wisdom,And his tongue talks of justice.” I had a dream once. There was a black screen with white words that read, “Bachelor’s degree. Master’s degree. Doctorate degree,” and in the background I kept hearing a voice say, “You don’t need a degree to believe.” Now this dream could mean many things but I simply want to address that my belief in the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit is where my wisdom comes from. I had to learn that my supernatural (only true type of wisdom) can come from God alone, not a degree. 1 Corinthians 1:30 (KJV):25 Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.”

The Bible puts a huge emphasis on wisdom as the Father specifically identifies Solomon’s request for wisdom when Solomon could have asked for anything.  2 Chronicles 1:10-12 (KJV): 10 Give me now wisdom and knowledge, that I may go out and come in before this people: for who can judge this thy people, that is so great?11 And God said to Solomon, Because this was in thine heart, and thou hast not asked riches, wealth, or honour, nor the life of thine enemies, neither yet hast asked long life; but hast asked wisdom and knowledge for thyself, that thou mayest judge my people, over whom I have made thee king:12 Wisdom and knowledge is granted unto thee; and I will give thee riches, and wealth, and honour, such as none of the kings have had that have been before thee, neither shall there any after thee have the like.” Now that is deep. Would I have asked God for wisdom before reading this passage? Probably not. Asking for wisdom isn’t something naturally in us to want. Our fallen nature is selfish and requests things that can only soothe the flesh. The desire to even want the wisdom from God is Holy Spirit inspired. If you want wisdom and understanding, just ask God. I know I do. Proverbs 16:16 (KJV): 16 How much better is it to get wisdom than gold! and to get understanding rather to be chosen than silver!”

I have forever grateful for God to share true wisdom with me, with us. I pray that the Holy Spirit writes these articles. I have no idea what to write because aside from the Father that dwells within, the Truth isn’t in me. My prayer is that He gives me a mind to understand. I often talk with people who are discouraged about not understanding the Gospel. First, it is important to recognize that none of us know or understand everything. No one knows the mind of God and if we knew everything, it is safe to assume that we would indeed become boastful, trying to match the intellect of the Father. Isaiah 55:9 (KJV): “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” I pray that we all earnestly and humbly ask God to give us wisdom. We aren’t deep. God is deep. The Son is deep. The Holy Spirit is deep. The Gospel is deep. If we cannot understand that, we don’t understand anything. Do not be fooled by the false doctrine pushed by the world. There is a lot we can take from the world of academia but the Bible takes things to a whole new level. Sometimes it feels like within a second that the Holy Spirit has given me understanding. We have not because we ask not (James 4:2). Trying to “go deep” with the wrong spirit only makes us look foolish and confused. The Father and His understanding always makes sense, though that doesn’t mean it will always make sense to the world. I find comfort and hope in knowing that I can finally have the wisdom I always wanted and not by being in debt as I seek higher education. In times of needing wisdom, which is all of the time, the only thing I need to do is whisper a prayer to the Father asking, “God, may You share Your thoughts with me?” 

Proverbs 2:10-11 (KJV): 10 When wisdom entereth into thine heart, and knowledge is pleasant unto thy soul; 11 Discretion shall preserve thee, understanding shall keep thee.”

About Thee Potter's Hand

I am merely a vessel with a desire to be used. View all posts by Thee Potter's Hand

6 responses to “God Shares Thoughts

  • ashley

    God does lead us in amazing ways. We’ve just got to listen for it and recognize it for what it is. I’m just thankful for my salvation and the fact that God never leaves me.

  • Thee Potter's Hand

    Ashley,

    Thank you for commenting. I agree, the Father certainly does lead us in amazing ways. It is a daily process to become more in tune with Him because it is true that we aren’t always in a position to hear Him clearly or at all. I am also thankful for my salvation and the loyalty of God, it is the greatest gift that one can ever receive. I pray that the Lord may continue to lead the Body of Christ as we help set captives free.

    God Bless!

  • Sharita

    Wisdom is a such a great spiritual gift! While it isn’t one of my top five, He does give it to me when I need it. Thanks for this post. It is rich– with wisdom 😉 Blessings!

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      Sharita,

      I find it very comforting that even the things that we don’t ask for daily, He still offers. I think we each have things that we keep in our “top 5” but it is amazing to know that He doesn’t put limitations on what He shares. You know how in the world you only get what you pay for? Yea, it is wonderful to have a God who wishes to chase us down with blessings!

      Thanks for commenting. God Bless.

  • Lisa Wisdom Taylor

    Enjoyed your post! The wisdom of God is “life” in these last days! This is what God’s Word say in Isaiah 33:6 (KJV): “Wisdom and knowledge is the stability of thy times, and strength of salvation; the fear of the Lord is his treasure.” God’s wisdom eradicates man’s wisdom for what we call commonsense will not stand the test of times. We need the fresh anointing and the supernatural wisdom of God to overcome every barrier in partnership with the Holy Spirit! Check this out in Proverbs 14:22 (AMP) about commonsense: “There is a way which seems right to a man and appears straight before him, but at the end of it is the way of death.”

    God bless you in His private room called the Holy of Holies to bless nations

    Lisa Wisdom Taylor

    • Thee Potter's Hand

      Lisa Wisdom Taylor,

      Amen Amen! Wisdom is rich, her presence is a direct reflection of His glory! Thank you for commenting. Be encouraged in the Lord and continue to find refuge under the shadow of His wings. Much love in Christ. 🙂

Leave a Reply

