I Am Not A Thief

Ephesians 4:28 (KJV): 28 Let him that stole steal no more: but rather let him labour, working with his hands the thing which is good, that he may have to give to him that needeth.”

This is another article inspired by God showing me something about myself, as usual. Growing up I was never really interested in materials but there was always something that I felt like I HAD to have. It was typically something related to technology. If I wanted it, I told my dad and chances were, he got it for me. I never understood how someone could steal. While I had my share of sin, I always felt too scary to steal something. I felt like I was in trouble even if I thought about it. I always imagined that if I had stolen something, that I would give it back, immediately. For example, I went shopping once and a worker forgot to take the censor off one of my items. As I went to leave the store the alarm began going off. My eyes got wide and all I kept saying was,”I didn’t steal anything!” Of course the worker came and explained how she had forgotten to take it off and all was well. Just the thought made me afraid. I always thought, “Man, someone must be really tough if they can steal.” One day a few months ago I was thinking of all that God had delivered me from, giving Him thanks. I found myself praying against all stealing spirits and I thought, “Wait…what!?? I’ve never stolen anything!”

John 10:10 (KJV): 10 The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”

I sat there, trying to figure out what would make me pray against that. I pray against anything that God puts on my heart but this prayer was almost like a confessing prayer. I thought really hard. I wasn’t a thief. Was I? God quickly brought to my mind the many songs that I had in my iTunes. I had over 3,000 songs a year ago and guess what!? I had gotten all of them illegally. It felt awkward to think that while it seemed like no big deal then, I was indeed a thief and my music library was proof. I then felt like I was in a dilemma because half of me wanted to delete the music but that would mean that I would have to restart my music library. I tried to pretend like it didn’t matter but I felt convicted, each time I pushed play. At that time I had only been listening to gospel music, which made me feel worse. I was listening to illegal worship. I made up my mind. I decided to erase everything in my library and if I were to listen or download music that I would either listen on Youtube or download them from iTunes.

Proverbs 10:2 (KJV): “Treasures of wickedness profit nothing: but righteousness delivereth from death.”

After I had gotten rid of all of my illegal songs I found myself asking God again, “God am I a thief?” What He showed me was and is very important. I had/have sometimes a bad habit of annoying others the way that they annoy me. I never think about intentionally giving someone a taste of their own medicine but I guess I subconsciously find myself doing or tempted to do that. How does this relate to being a thief? Because if someone stole my joy I would steal theirs. When Satan comes to kill, steal, and destroy, it isn’t always with materials. The devil can also steal joy, happiness, prosperity etc. When I found myself operating in the flesh and directly or indirectly causing people to feel the way I felt, I was a thief. Even if my joy had been stolen, that is never a reason to steal from others. Misery loves company? So aside from the illegal music, I had a history of stealing the joy from others. If someone ruined my day; theirs was going to be ruined too. I guess in my mind that would show them how it feels? Or to never upset me again? Regardless of my foolish thinking, I was operating the way Satan does. It doesn’t matter what he steals, just know that he comes to steal all things. So while I may have never stolen anything from a “store” I had indeed been a thief and it took me to surrender to God, to be humble enough to hear from Him, to see Scriptural evidence, and to gain His perspective to see myself clearly. I promise, God never fails to show us what we need to know. It is important that we ask Him to show us, so that we can turn from our wicked ways. Stealing anything is wicked and the works of Satan.

Exodus 20:15 (KJV): 15 Thou shalt not steal.”

About Thee Potter's Hand

I am merely a vessel with a desire to be used. View all posts by Thee Potter's Hand

4 responses to “I Am Not A Thief

Leave a Reply

